Lee.org

View notable entries only

Match.com spam

January 16th, 2006 12:55pm. General

I’ve been on Match.com for a couple months. In that time, I’ve gotten 3 spams. I don’t even know what they are trying to sell me, but they sure bother me.

Here’s today’s spam from “markinazaokk” on Match.com

Hello!
My name - Ekaterina, me 28 years.
I loved your structure on site Match, and I at once have decided to write to you the letter.
I very much loved yours the image, I while do not have the but if you will answer me
I shall try to send you the structure. I as well as many people simply want
To find to itself the person, for a life and for the father of children and love.
I hope, that my letter will be interesting to you, and you will answer me!!!
With impatience I shall wait for your letter!!!!
Please write letters on mine e-mail: katvolkova@rambler.ru
Katya.

And one from Jan 5th from “freefromall7v7 ”

I am a recent member of this site and like others looking for love. I decided to write you and see where it goes… If you are interested, I would feel more comfortable if you write me to sweet_cherry357@yahoo.com I hope to hear back from you soon.
Bye.

8 Responses to “Match.com spam”

  1. Laura Says:

    How can you be sure that it isn’t the Russian Mail Order Bride or Sweet Cherry of your dreams?

  2. amykins Says:

    sound like russian pay for play brides or those striking out on their own for a lil american man #1 marriage

    you should email them back from a fake email and see what they say…I wonder what they cost lately since the market has opened to other countries so readily..

  3. Lotta, fiona's friend Says:

    I am on match.com, but you couldn’t find me in a billion, ok ten, years. I lied and logged off. I have been feeling ambivalent about the people I have been corresponding with from any site. OK, maybe ten minutes. Debating pulling my ad once again…

  4. Tom Says:

    I got a similar e-mail from supposed Ekaterina. Same e-mail address but a different profile name. I wouldn’t e-mail anyone from match.com with an e-mail address ending in .ru just to be safe. A good way to check authenticity of some of the e-mails is to just type in different portions of the message on the internet and if it’s a scam, you may find the same exact message and the same pictures they send. The whole scam seems to be based on them luring you into believing that they’re totally in love and can’t bear being away from you and when you’re primed for the kill, they ask you to send money to some travel agency to help them make the trip. The heart is not always so smart. But it does seem that Match.com needs to police their site better. If you get such an e-mail, call them and report it so they can cancel the person’s membership.

  5. Tom Says:

    And one more thing, no matter what, don’t send money. If they start asking for money, run - it may be a scam. Identity theft is also possible so watch out giving out personal information.

  6. Lee Says:

    I created a fake email address and sent Ekaterina an email. She replied back a day later with a pretty convincing email. I don’t have it in me to play this game. Tom, I think you’re right! See the image she sent me, above.

    Hi Xxx.
    I am glad, that today I have received news from you, thanks you, that have written to me.
    The truth I never in the life communicated with the person who does not live in Russia, and talks on I native language.
    But I well understand everything, that you have written to me.
    When I went to school, and then at university I had very good teachers on English language and consequently I can read your letters without assistance and write to you.
    And I hope, you understand, everything, that I write to you.
    As Xxx we only we get acquainted, I should tell about myself more.
    To me now 28 years, and my birthday on May, 31st, 1977.
    My growth of 170 centimeters, weight of 61 kg.
    I very much like walks on fresh air, I very much love the nature.
    I like the sea and is pleasant to float, in the summer I often bathe and I sunbathe on coast of our remarkable river Volga.
    At us in city Cheboksary in which I was born and a lot of water has grown.
    Inhabitants of our city name his Volga Venice.
    There there can be vessels going through Baltic or Caspian sea.
    I love a life - I am an optimist, and I believe, that the majority beautiful a thing expects us in the future.
    I trust in the God and destiny, and I expect my unique unique person.
    I trust in family and love, and I search for the person to the one whom I shall give all heat of my heart and with that whom I shall be always together…, I wish to divide with it all things - good and sad, all which we shall meet in our life.
    My person, clever also has strong spirit, it is kind and magnanimous and generous, it will do that - be for me, and will know, that I shall do that - be for him.
    Unique my person who requires love and can give love.
    It is a person who requires reliable family and fair attitudes.
    I to want, that you would send me the photo.
    I do not know, why, but it is pleasant to me to write to you the letter.
    I to want, that you would answer me somewhat quicker.
    Write to me about itself, than you are engaged what to love, I all to wish to know about you.
    Questions which you wish to set to me also will be interesting to me, I with pleasure on them shall answer! I do not know, that I will be valid happened, but looking ahead with hope and a smile.
    Your friend from Russia Ekaterina!!!

    P.S. I wish to ask you Xxx some questions, I hope, that you will answer them.
    How do you release anger?
    You trust another easily?
    WHAT FIRST THING, YOU THINK OF WHEN YOU WAKE UP?

  7. Charlotte Says:

    Pretty stilted English…perhaps she also used a translation machine. My students try that before I read them the recipe for paste cake…overthrow the thimbles!!

  8. Lee Says:

    Searching on some phrases in her letter, I just found eKaterina’s letter on StopScammers.com, WomenRussia.com,and Russian-Detetive.com. Each had a different photo.

    :-(

Leave a Comment




Subscribe without commenting